Church of Nigeria Anglican communion honours 25 eminent church leaders


The Church of Nigeria Anglican Communion has honoured 25 Eminent Church Leaders to commemorate  its 45th anniversary of the birth  of the Church.

This was contained in a statement signed by Folu Olamiti stating that the 25 awardees were honoured for their Excellence in Faithfulness in the Kingdom Service

The award took place during the bi – Annual  Standing Committee Meeting of the Church of Nigeria Anglican Communion which took place at The Anglican Cathedral Church of Ascension  Boji- Boji Owa, Diocese of Ika.

- Advertisement -

Names of the recipients are as follows:

- Advertisement -

1.The Most Rev’d Dr Peter Jasper Akinola. Former Primate

- Advertisement -

2.The Most Rev’d Dr Nicholas Okoh  Former Primate

3.The Most Revd Timothy Olufosoye



4. The  Most Rev’d Joseph Abiodun Adetiloye.           Posthumous

5. Bishop Ajayi Crowther  Posthumous

6.. The Most Revd Dr Ephraim Adebola Ademowo- Former Bishop of Lagos

7. The Right Revd Emmanuel Gbonigi- Former Bishop of Akure

8. The Right Revd Gideon Olajide- Former Bishop of Ibadan

9. Henry Johnson-  Diocese of Lagos – Post Humous

10. The Right Revd ( Lt Col)  Titus E. Ogbonyomi- Diocese of Kaduna  Posthumous

11. The Most Rev’d  Jonathan Onyemelukwe – Former Bishop on the  Niger – Posthumous

12. Hon. Justice Babasola Opeoluwa Ogunade- Chancellor Lagos West

13. Barr Dr Abraham Yisa – Former Registrar CON

14. Deaconess Susan Esan – CMS Missionary, Jos Diocese

15. Evangelist Mary Maidoki – Diocese of Maiduguri

16. Chief Folu Olamiti- Diocese of Abuja

17. Very Revd Dr Ifechukwu Ibeme – Diocese of Maiduguri


READ ALSO: Portable Blasts Nigerians For Celebrating Super Eagles’ Victory


18.Mr Bode Adediji- Diocese of Isun

19. Chief Timothy AtoyebiAdesoye- Diocese of Osun

20. Evang  Mrs H.E Ejoharado – Diocese of Sapele

21. Lady Ndidi Anuchi- Diocese of Sapele.

22. Otunba ( Dr) Mathew Oyin  Jolayemi – Diocese of Igbomina West

23. Professor Olugbemiro Jegede Diocese of Ogorimagogo.

24.Ven. Franklin Inomo Olenye, Diocse of Niger.

25. Air Commodore Prof Philemon Afume Agashua – Diocese of Gboko Posthumous.

In his opening address to delegates to the  Standing Committee meeting The Archbishop Metropolitan and Primate of all Nigeria Most Revd Henry Ndukuba said the Church of Nigeria Award Committee had carefully selected the eminent Church Leaders for the award of Excellence in Faithfulness in Kingdom Service.

The Primate declared: ” We appreciate their diligence in their choices and more so, we thank God for the enduring legacy these servants of God have left in the service of God and humanity.

” We remain grateful to the Almighty God for the sacrifice of these great fathers of faith for the Church. Some of the Awards are posthumous- the memory of the Righteous shall be blessed.




We do everything possible to supply quality news and information to all our valuable readers day in, day out and we are committed to keep doing this. Your kind donation will help our continuous research efforts.


-Want to get the news as it breaks?-

- Advertisement -