Tribunal sacks Delta PDP, APC reps


The National Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Asaba, Delta State, on Monday, nullified the election of a two-term member of the House of Representatives on the platform of the All Progressive Congress, Francis Waive.


The tribunal declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party in the February 25 election, Solomon Ahwinahwi, as the winner to represent Ughelli North/Ughelli South/Udu federal constituency.

- Advertisement -


In another judgement, the tribunal ordered a re-run for Enwhe ward 09 of Isoko federal constituency and directed that the Certificate of Return issued to Mr. Jonathan Ukohdiko of the PDP as the winner of the Isoko federal constituency election should be set aside.

- Advertisement -


Candidate of the Social Democratic Party for Isoko federal constituency, Mr. Dickson Ebegbare, had approached the tribunal, insisting that Ukohdiko was not duly elected by lawful votes and that no election was held in the contentious ward 09.




In Waive’s case, the tribunal nullified the election due to failure to have his qualification published.


However, Waive rejected the judgement and vowed to appeal it at the appellate court, insisting that the grounds for his disqualification were not known to Nigerian law.


We do everything possible to supply quality news and information to all our valuable readers day in, day out and we are committed to keep doing this. Your kind donation will help our continuous research efforts.


-Want to get the news as it breaks?-